Skip to Main content Skip to Navigation
Journal articles

De la production de l’espace aux lieux : un itinéraire entre espaces et sociétés

Abstract : Drawing on his personal history as a researcher, the author illustrates various ways of exploring the relationship between space and society. The study of the production of space in the tradition of Henri Lefebvre and Raymond Ledrut led him to investigate the actors and systems of action that produce space, along the lines of Michel Crozier and Erhard Friedberg. Other references (Irving Goffmann, Edward T. Hall, Jean Remy and Liliane Voyé, Georges Perec) raised his awareness of the uses of space, and then the existential dimension of our spatial experience. The concepts of place and ambience thus become essential.But the investigation of relations between space and society cannot avoid a radical questioning of the Euclidian definition of an immutable space. On the contrary, ‘the essence of space, as it is conceived today, is its many-sidedness, the infinite potentiality for relations within it’ (Sigfried Gideon, Space, Time and Architecture, 1941: 356, as quoted by Martina Löw). These theoretical considerations have numerous implications for practice.
Document type :
Journal articles
Complete list of metadata

https://hal-upec-upem.archives-ouvertes.fr/hal-03300620
Contributor : Nicolas Beyrand Connect in order to contact the contributor
Submitted on : Tuesday, July 27, 2021 - 11:00:38 AM
Last modification on : Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 3:44:14 AM

Identifiers

Collections

Citation

Alain Bourdin. De la production de l’espace aux lieux : un itinéraire entre espaces et sociétés. Espaces et sociétés (Paris, France), Erès, 2021, n° 180-181 (1), pp.79-96. ⟨10.3917/esp.180.0079⟩. ⟨hal-03300620⟩

Share

Metrics

Record views

18